Lookup a License: Use this link to search for Virginia insurance individual and agency licenses.
To withdraw/cancel a license, use Form 5001 provided here and email it to AgentLicensing@scc.virginia.gov.
To request a Letter of Clearance, use Form 5001 provided here and email it to AgentLicensing@scc.virginia.gov.
The Bureau of Insurance encourages all licensees to review Virginia Commonwealth Requirements here.
Before applying for the license
Step 1 - Fingerprinting
Step 2 - Pass the appropriate licensing examinationResidents
The renewal fee will be $10 per line of authority.
Renewal notices will be emailed 90 days prior to license expiration date.
License(s) will have a renewal date based on your birth month and odd/even year of birth. For example, if you were born in an odd-numbered year, your license will expire at the end of your birth month in odd-numbered years. If you were born in an even-numbered year, your license will expire at the end of your birth month in even-numbered years.
Those born in an odd year their first renewal will be in 2023. Those born in an even year their first renewal will be in 2022 except for those born in January, they will renew in 2024.
Licensed on or before January 1, 2021
You will have a minimum of 13 months before your first renewal.
Licensed after January 1, 2021
You will have a minimum of 13 months from the date your license was issued before first renewal.
Continuing Education/License Renewal Deadlines
Verify your license expiration date is accurate
Expiration dates for individual producer licenses will not be populated until February 21, 2021
|Month||2021 (Odd)||2022 (Even)||2023 (Odd)||2024 (Even)|
|January||No Renewals||No Renewals||Renew by Jan 31||Renew by Jan 31|
|February||No Renewals||Renew by Feb 28||Renew by Feb 28|
|March||No Renewals||Renew by Mar 31||Renew by Mar 31|
|April||No Renewals||Renew by Apr 30||Renew by Mar 30|
|May||No Renewals||Renew by May 31||Renew by May 31|
|June||No Renewals||Renew by Jun 30||Renew by Jun 30|
|July||No Renewals||Renew by Jul 31||Renew by Jul 31|
|August||No Renewals||Renew by Aug 31||Renew by Aug 31|
|September||No Renewals||Renew by Sep 30||Renew by Sep 30|
|October||No Renewals||Renew by Oct 31||Renew by Oct 31|
|November||No Renewals||Renew by Nov 30||Renew by Nov 30|
|December||No Renewals||Renew by Dec 31||Renew by Dec 31|
All agency licenses are due May 1 of every odd year.
If you are a resident agent, completion of any continuing education requirements will be due at time of license renewal.
To print a license online, click here. This service is free for 30 days after application approvals and renewals completed through Sircon. Duplicate license copies can be printed any other time for a Sircon service fee.
Individual license(s) may be reinstated within twelve months from the renewal date due to non-renewal or failure to complete continuing education requirements. This does not apply to agents who fail to complete continuing education for the 2019-2020 biennium.
In addition to the original renewal fee, a reinstatement fee double the renewal fee will be required.
Virginia statutes require a Viatical Settlement Broker within 60 days of licensure and annually thereafter by March 1 of each year certify to the Commission implementation of anti-fraud initiatives reasonably calculated to detect, prosecute, and prevent fraudulent viatical settlement acts. Review a copy of the Virginia Code 38.2-6011 E at http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/38.2-6011/.
Click here to download and properly complete the Annual Certification of Anti-Fraud Initiatives Form. Email completed certifications and any questions concerning your compliance status to VSBAnti-FraudPlan@scc.virginia.gov.
Effective January 1, 2021, Title Settlement Agent registration and Producer Title License will have a renewal date based on your birth month and odd/even year of birth.
RESA/Title Settlement Agency registration renewals are due May 1 of every odd year. Title Settlement Agency must also renew their Producer Title license on or before May 1 of every odd year.
To renew the Producer Title license, click on the "Renew or Reinstate a License" link located at the top of this page.
To renew the Title Settlement Agent registration, click on the "Renew your RESA/Title Settlement Registration" link located at the top of this page.
Review non-resident renewal instructions at:
Failure to renew your Title Settlement Agent registration on or before the expiration date will result in automatic termination and will require you to re-register as a Title Settlement Agent.
Presently, renewal confirmation notice is not available for printing via Sircon. Renewal confirmation will be mailed to the address on record within 15 business days.
Wonder what your National Producer Number (NPN) is? This unique identifying number is assigned to licensed individuals by the NAIC (National Association of Insurance Commissioners) and most states are beginning to use it for various licensing purposes. If you hold a license in Virginia, click here to find your NPN. Please note an NPN is assigned within 48-72 hours of licensure.