Technology Surcharge Changed
Lookup a License: Use the Minnesota License Inquiry Service to verify the license of an insurance producer, agency, adjuster, or company.
To print your license, use the License Print service. This service is free for individuals who pay the Minnesota Technology Surcharge. For business entities, this service is free for up to 30 days after license approval and renewal for license applications and license renewals completed through Sircon. Duplicate license copies can be printed at any time (fees may apply).
You may renew your license 90 days before your expiration date. If you attempt to renew earlier than 90 days before your expiration date, you will receive a message that states: "The National Producer Database found your resident license but did not identify any licenses for renewal at this time. Please try again at a later date."
Effective May 1, 2023, the technology surcharge will be $10. Please see the Minnesota Department of Commerce website for additional information.
Resident Business Entities - Must request a name change by email to the Department of Commerce. The request must include a copy of the Amended Articles of Incorporation that have been stamped and filed by the Secretary of State.
Nonresident Business Entities - Must request a name change by email to the Department of Commerce. We will verify electronically that you have updated your resident license before we process the name change.
An individual insurance producer or adjuster who allows the license to lapse may, within 12 months from the due date of the renewal fee, reinstate the license without the necessity of passing a written examination. However, a penalty in the amount of twice the unpaid renewal fee must be paid by the individual for any renewal fee received after the due date.
If your license has been expired for more than 1 year you will need to reapply for the license. If an exam is required for licensure you will need to retest, get fingerprinted, and reapply for the license.